Behind the Scenes {Newborn} San Francisco Photographer

I always think it’s interesting to see how other photographers capture the images they do, and Rocket’s mama took a few photos of me working during Rocket’s photoshoot that I thought would be fun to share.

The photo on the left is the “work” photo and the photo on the right is the resulting image.

Brooke Bryand Photography | Behind The Scenes | San Francisco Photographer
Brooke Bryand Photography | Behind The Scenes | San Francisco Photographer

What you DIYs at home will want to remember is that in image one, I’ve created a very SIMPLE background…you don’t see any knick-knacks, sippy cups, burp cloths, etc. to distract your eye from what I want you to see (the super-cool rocking chair and of course baby Rocket). In image two, you’ll notice that I wanted to capture this moment as they were…just Dad & Rocket…not super-posed, but just capturing the essence of Dad supporting and loving his new son. Again, I used the natural environment but made sure the distractions were not part of my shot (you don’t see dad’s feet or anything else that was peripheral). I may choose to incorporate those elements in other shots (see the full post on Rocket for other examples), but it’s important to create a variety…nobody needs to have 50 of the same exact shot!

Let me know if you have questions – I am happy to answer!

About brookebryand

Raleigh | San Francisco Corporate Commercial Lifestyle Photographer Vision Strategist
This entry was posted in Behind the Scenes, Photography Tips. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment